Home> About us > Branding guidelines > Documents > Translations >

TRADOS TM Merge

Merging two (or more) translation memory databases into one new database

The translation memory (TM) database is the most important file in your translation system. You must always make sure that you have a backup copy. Every time you have work with translations the TM database will grow in size. For that reason, make sure that you backup the TM file as often as possible.

If two (or more) people with Trados "Freelance" lisences translate to the same target language on individual computers, a common translation memory file would be useful. However, this requires a network server and "professional" lisences. As an alternative, the translation memory files created on each computer can be merged to a single common file, and then put to use by each translator.

This procedure explains how to merge two translation memory files from two different computers.

Procedure

  1. On computer "A", open the Tradios Studio 2014 program.
  2. In the bottom left corner of the display presentation, click Translation Memories.
  3. Observe that the page clears.
  4. On the top toolbar, click Open → Open translation memory.
  5. Choose the translation memory file you normally use, and observe that it opens in the editor.
  6. Click Export on the toolbar, and save the file on *.TMX format on a chosen folder.
  7. On computer "B", repeat this for the second translation memory file, and save the *.TMX file on a USB memory device.

    Give it a different name than the export file on computer "A".

  8. Move the USB memory device to computer "A".
  9. On computer "A", copy the second *.TMX file from the USB memory device to the same chosen folder as the first file.
  10. In Trados Studio, create a new (and empty) translation memory file.
  11. On the top toolbar, click Import
  12. Observe that the Import wizards starts.
  13. On page 1; Import files;
    1. Click Add files.
    2. Select both the *.TMX files from the chosen folder.
    3. Click Next.
  14. On page 2; TMX Import options;
    1. Set filter to [None] (that is the default choice).
    2. Set Unknown fields to Add to translation memory
    3. Choose the top scenario.
    4. Click Next.
  15. On page 3; General import options;
    1. Click to select Overwrite existing translation units
    2. Leave the other options blank.
    3. Click Finish.
  16. On page 4; Importing;
    1. Observe that the data from the two TMX files are imported.
    2. Click Close.
  17. In the menu structure on the left side of the display presentation, right-click on the translation memory name, and click Remove from list on the short-cut menu.
  18. Save the settings and close the file.
  19. Put the new translation memory to use on both computers.

Topics

Back to